2016 MAC Award Winners!

  • Post author:
  • Reading time:6 mins read


At a ceremony held last night in New York, the Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs announced the winners of the 2016 MAC Awards. A Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Amanda McBroom. Also honored with a Board of Directors award was Maryann Lopinto. Jamie deRoy received the Ruth Kurtzman Benefit Award on behalf of her work with The Actors Fund: Jamie deRoy & Friends Cabaret Initiative. Sally Darling received the Hanson Award. The show was produced by Julie Miller and directed by Lennie Watts, with musical direction by Matt Baker.

Female Vocalist
Tanya Moberly: Songs I Feel Like Singing
Don’t Tell Mama

Male Vocalist
Kristoffer Lowe: You’re Getting to Be a Habit with Me
Metropolitan Room

Major Artist
Stacy Sullivan: Since You’ve Asked
Metropolitan Room

Celebrity Artist
Karen Mason: Mason at Mama’s in March; Love Secrets of the Ancient Divas;
Next to Norma; Christmas! Christmas! Christmas!

Don’t Tell Mama, Rrazz Room (New Hope), Rrazz Room at the Prince (Philadelphia), Kennedy Center, Bethel Woods Center for the Arts

New York Debut – Female
Natalie Arneson: Mama Drama
The Duplex

New York Debut – Male
Charles Baran: Recipes for Disaster!
Metropolitan Room

Musical Comedy Performer – TIE!
Barbara Malley: Eat! Drink! Be Merry!
Don’t Tell Mama


Molly Pope: Molly Pope Likes Your Status
The Duplex

Impersonation/Characterization/Drag Artist
Doris Dear: Doris Dear’s Gurl Talk: Unplugged;
Doris Dear’s Gurl Talk: The Rumpus Room Edition

Don’t Tell Mama

Kim Grogg and Kim Sutton: Whenever I Call You Friend
Don’t Tell Mama

Major Duo/Group
Eric Comstock & Barbara Fasano: Shoulder Season;
Something to Live For: The Strayhorn Centennial; others

Metropolitan Room, National Jazz Museum in Harlem, Birdland, Jazz at Kitano, others

Another Hundred People
Performed by KT Sullivan and Jeff Harnar, directed by Sondra Lee,
musical direction by Jon Weber

Laurie Beechman

Recurring Series
Ricky Ritzel’s Broadway
Created and produced by Ricky Ritzel, staged by Jay Rogers and Aaron Morishita
Don’t Tell Mama, Urban Stages

Special Production
Mama’s Next Big Act
Created and hosted by Lennie Watts, produced by Limor Shekhter and Lennie Watts
Don’t Tell Mama

Bobbie Horowitz: It’s Just a Number
Metropolitan Room

Ensemble Instrumentalist
Sean Harkness: Guitar

Piano Bar Instrumentalist
Nate Buccieri
Brandy’s, Don’t Tell Mama

Restaurant/Hotel Lounge Instrumentalist
Sheree Sano
Don’t Tell Mama Happy Hour

 Piano Bar Singing Entertainer – Female
Jennifer Pace

Piano Bar Singing Entertainer – Male
Tommy J. Dose
Don’t Tell Mama

Musical Director
Steven Ray Watkins
Lennie Watts (Don’t Tell Mama), Tanya Moberly (Don’t Tell Mama),
Eve Eaton (Don’t Tell Mama), Heather Villaescusa (Don’t Tell Mama),
Wendy A. Russell (Don’t Tell Mama)

Lennie Watts
Kristoffer Lowe (Metropolitan Room), Eve Eaton (Don’t Tell Mama),
Kim Grogg & Kim Sutton (Don’t Tell Mama),
Raissa Katona Bennett & Kenneth Gartman (Laurie Beechman)

Technical Director
Collette Black
Karen Kohler, William Ludwig, and Sebastian Stert: In This Town: The Songs of Marlene Dietrich & Hildegard Knef; Wendy A. Russell: Where Have I Been All My Life?;
Helen Glassman: Confessions of a Native New Yorker: Jerry Phelps: Can’t Have It All
Don’t Tell Mama

Recording (Lamott Friedman Award)
Jim Speake: Sweet Life

Major Recording
Barbara Fasano: Busy Being Free

“Hold On Tight”
Music by Meg Flather and John Mettam; Lyrics by Meg Flather

Comedy/Novelty Song – TIE!
“The Egg Nog Song”
Music by Derek Gregor; Lyrics by Sam Carner


“The Mermaid and the Whale”
Music by Carolyn Montgomery-Forant and Jeff Cubeta;
Lyrics by Carolyn Montgomery-Forant

Show of the Year
Mason at Mama’s In March
Performed by Karen Mason, musical direction by Christopher Denny,
directed by Barry Kleinbort

Don’t Tell Mama